CONGRATULATIONS to our 2012 Member of the Year, Richard Grimmett!!

Richard with members of District 20; Pres. Don Freeman, Jerry & Donna Pye, Pat Freeman and Randy & Elaine Hutcheson



Several years ago there was an ABATE Member named Ray Gowen. Ray was one of those guys who loved people and especially biker people. He and his wife would be at most every ABATE event and not just his district event but every event. He was one of the first to arrive and the last to leave. Ray welcomed everyone to ABATE and the events that he was a volunteer. His rugged biker look just might have made some shy away but his infectious smile and giving, loving and servants heart would win most everyone over. Ray was an ordinary ABATE Member that always gave that extra little bit, making Ray Gowen that extraordinary ABATE Member. Ray Gowen Passed away and his hard work and passion was missed, so the State Board of Abate created "The ABATE RAY GOWEN MEMORIAL AWARD". Ray exemplified the inscription on the plaque that is awarded to the most outstanding ABATE Member of the year in the State of Arkansas. Ordinarily, each year there is a member that is nominated to the State Board of ABATE and the tough decision is made and this member is selected.

The inscription on the plaque reads,

"You have accepted the Challenge to Soar above the world and overcome Barriers to Success that would have caused others to Falter or Fail,

You have been Decisive where others have Hesitated,

You are Recognized as a leader for your efforts,

You are an Inspiration...

Like the Majestic Eagle

"STUBBY" STUMBAUGH PRESENTS THE PLAQUE TO THE 2012 WINNER, RICHARD GRIMMETT. STUBBY ORIGINATED THIS AWARD IN MEMORY AND HONOR OF RAY GOWEN AND HIS SERVICE & DEDICATION TO , NOT ONLY ABATE OF ARKANSAS, BUT TO HIS FELLOW MOTORCYCLISTS.

This award is given once a year and is done so by letter of nomination from the individual districts for a member they feel that has exemplified the ideals & goals of A.B.A.T.E. of Arkansas. The letters are read at a State Meeting, written ballots are turned in & the member of the year is selected by the majority vote of the state reps.

